Today is National Lobster Day.

I’m not sure if the holiday is celebrating this crustacean for its’ longevity or its’ delicious taste. Yes I know that if you are celebrating National Lobster Day today, you are celebrating the consumption of Canadian lobsters. I don’t care, I love lobsters, especially in my tummy, floating in a sea of gin, especially Bombay Sapphire (what you want your pre-digested crustaceans to be floating in, is between you and your god.).

If you feel you must, celebrate National Lobster Day on the 25th of September, when you clearly will be honoring the Maine variety. Once again, need I remind the gentle reader that, National Martini Day is June 19th, Father’s Day is June 20th; I see lobster in my future.

Here’s a tip from your old friend, the doctor: Look for a lobster that seems active and alive, and the more active, the better. If you are not squeamish, remove the rubber bands before dispatching your lobsters. If you have the time please take a tip from one of our bunkies, consider reading David Foster Wallace’s classic essay, “Consider the Lobster.

Demand Euphoria!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started